GGNRA Dog Management Plan Speak Out

GGNRA Proposed Dog Management Plan - Speak Out

EMAIL YOUR LOCAL POLICYMAKERS TODAY!

If you are concerned about the new dog management plan, and the way the GGNRA ignored the will of the public, please let your local and federal elected officials know that you are angry and that they need to oppose the plan and support traditional recreation, including dog walking, in the GGNRA. Email them today!

SAMPLE EMAIL

Dear [Name of Your Local Official]

I am writing to urge you to do everything you can to stop the Golden Gate National Recreation Area from implementing its new “dog management plan.” This plan will cut where people can walk off- and on-leash by 90% compared with where people can walk with dogs now. It is going to create a huge impact on the Bay Area, which we simply can’t afford.

I had hoped that this new plan would be significantly different from the original GGNRA dog management plan, because thousands of people—the overwhelming majority—submitted substantive comments in opposition to the plan. But the GGNRA did not make significant changes. They ignored what people want, and are moving forward with an extremely unpopular plan no matter what we say.

The GGNRA was created in 1972 for the maintenance of needed recreational open space, and to expand to the maximum extent possible the outdoor recreational opportunities available to the region. That's why it's designated as a National Recreation Area, not a National Park. With the new dog management plan, the GGNRA is reneging on its promises to preserve and protect recreational access to the GGNRA.

There is no credible reason why people with dogs are not allowed to have adequate and reasonable space to walk their dogs in the vast 80,000 acres that comprise the GGNRA. Please take action to stop the GGNRA from imposing this radical plan on the San Francisco Bay Area.

Thank you,

[Your Name]

*For more points to incorporate into your letter, see the additional talking points below.

CONTACT INFO FOR LOCAL OFFICIALS (click on link after each name)

San Francisco Board of Supervisors:

District 1 Eric Mar............. Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org

District 2 Mark Farrell...... Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org

District 3 David Chiu........ David.Chiu@sfgov.org

District 4 Katy Tang.......... Katy.Tang@sfgov.org

District 5 London Breed.. London.Breed@sfgov.org

District 6 Jane Kim.......... Jane.Kim@sfgov.org

District 7 Norman Yee..... Norman.Yee@sfgov.org

District 8 Scott Wiener..... Scott.Wiener@sfgov.org

District 9 David Campos David.Campos@sfgov.org

District 10 Malia Cohen..... Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org

District 11 John Avalos...... John.Avalos@sfgov.org
 

San Mateo County Board of Supervisors:

Dave Pine.............. 1st District...... dpine@smcgov.org

Carole Groom....... 2nd District..... cgroom@smcgov.org

Don Horsley.......... 3rd District...... dhorsley@smcgov.org

Warren Slocum.... 4th District...... wslocum@smcgov.org

Adrienne Tissier... 5th District...... atissier@smcgov.org

 
Marin County Board of Supervisors:

Susan Adams....... District 1......... sadams@co.marin.ca.us

Katie Rice.............. District 2......... krice@co.marin.ca.us

Kathrin Sears........ District 3......... ksears@co.marin.ca.us

Steve Kinsey......... District 4......... skinsey@co.marin.ca.us

Judy Arnold............ District 5......... jarnold@co.marin.ca.us


Federal Policymakers:

U.S. Congressman Jared Huffman (Marin): https://huffman.house.gov/contact/email-me

U.S. House of Representatives Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (San Francisco): http://pelosi.house.gov/contact-me/email-me

U.S. Congresswoman Jackie Speier (part of San Francisco and San Mateo): https://forms.house.gov/speier/webforms/email_jackie.shtml

 
ADDITIONAL TALKING POINTS:

1. The GGNRA did not make any significant changes to its original dog management plan in this new SEIS plan. They ignored public comments that overwhelmingly opposed the original proposed dog management plan. They ignored what people want, and are moving forward with an extremely unpopular plan.

2. The new dog management plan still cuts where people can walk off- and on-leash by 90% compared to where people can walk with dogs now. It will allow NO off-leash anywhere on GGNRA land in San Mateo County. Rodeo Beach will be the ONLY off-leash access in the Marin GGNRA.

3. In San Francisco, the new plan will ban dogs entirely (not even on-leash) from the vast majority of Fort Funston. It will ban dogs entirely from the East Beach at Crissy Field. It will ban dogs entirely from all of Ocean Beach south of the Beach Chalet (2/3 of Ocean Beach).

4. The SEIS plan will ban people with dogs from 99.9% of the GGNRA's 80,000 acres. There is no way that you can say this plan is balanced or fair, since it denies dog-walking access to hundreds of thousands of people who live in 1/3 of the Bay Area households and who have dogs.

5. The GGNRA was created in 1972 for the "maintenance of needed recreational open space," and "to expand to the maximum extent possible the outdoor recreational opportunities available to the region." That's why it's a National Recreation Area, not a National Park. With the new dog management plan, the GGNRA is reneging on its promises to preserve and protect recreational access to the GGNRA.

6. The dog management plan is part of a larger plan to radically change the way the GGNRA manages its lands. A draft General Management Plan, released in 2011, proposes to manage 90% of its land for a "backcountry visitor experience," defined as low use levels (few visitors), controls on access, and minimal amenities. That is wildly inappropriate for parks located within and adjacent to large cities like the GGNRA.

7. The SEIS says that the cost to implement the new restrictions on access for people with dogs will be $2.5 million each year. The GGNRA says it can no longer empty garbage cans frequently or do routine maintenance because it has no money, yet they want to waste millions on this misguided plan.


FOR MORE INFORMATION:

www.saveoffleash.com

www.facebook.com/saveoffleash

http://oceanbeachdog.home.mindspring.com

www.sfdog.org

This action alert is endorsed by Crissy Field Dog Group, DogPAC of San Francisco, Fort Funston Dog Walkers, Montara Dog Group, Ocean Beach DOG, Save Off Leash Dog Walking, SF Professional Dog Walkers Association, SFDOG

Download Our Free Mobile App

© 2021 DogTrekker.com